Trust in the uncertain

“Command those who are rich in this present world not to be arrogant nor to put their hope in wealth, which is so uncertain, but to put their hope in God, who richly provides us with everything for our enjoyment.” 1 Timothy 6:17

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 2 Kings 11-12 & 2 Chronicles 24 & 1 Timothy 6)

Another message against counterfeit gods.

How easily they slip into my life!

The giveaway that it has happened to me is that I turn sour. I start to react in an ungodly fashion.

What does that have to do with counterfeit gods? My happiness has switched to being dependent on something/someone other than God. Whatever the new god is, it is counterfeit. It is not the real God. The One who died for me. The One who loves me.

It shocks me how easily I can latch onto a counterfeit god. But one good thing is that the counterfeit is so easily detected. The important things are to recognize what has happened and turn from the counterfeit and lock back in with the real God.

Today’s verse shows the love of money to be a counterfeit god. The strivings surrounding money are the counterfeit god part. I can’t be chasing money and letting it determine how I am. I certainly need to work and I certainly need to be a good steward with what I have. My happiness, however, cannot revolve around money.

“Lord, forgive me for chasing counterfeit gods. They are all sinking sand. They will not give me the satisfaction You can give. I love You. I cling to You. Fill me with You, I beg.”

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Timothy

Comments are closed.