Chasing the worthless

Scene from the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens in Boothbya

Scene from the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens in Boothbay

“Those who cling to worthless idols turn away from God’s love for them.” Jonah 2:8

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Jonah 1-4 & 2 Timothy 2)

Jonah figured it out and his finding still applies today.

God is ready and willing to satisfy every need and longing that I have. The world promises to do the same. To which will I give my allegiance?

Jonah realized that the folks living in Nineveh were chasing counterfeit gods. Things were not going to end well for them, he assumed, unless they repented.

I, too, must avoid chasing counterfeit gods. My happiness must not be attached to anything of this world. There is no permanence to such an attachment.

As I have written recently, I can tell when I have become attached to a counterfeit god when my disposition turns sour. I know then that my happiness is dependent on something or someone other than God. Why? Because God’s goodness is constant and circumstances do not effect it. The world’s goodness is erratic because the connected circumstances can and will fluctuate.

Think of how that works if a person becomes my counterfeit god. When they are doing what I want then I am happy. When they become unhappy with me or someone else then I am directly or indirectly effected and my disposition changes. I want them to be happy so that I can be happy. They will fluctuate and in like manner I will fluctuate along with them.

My trust must be completely in Him. Nothing in the world can be given “god” status. The world is the enemy of God. I must treat it as an enemy, not something to flirt with.

“Lord, thank You for Your Word. Thank You for the truths that pour from it. Forgive me for missing so much of it. I want You in complete control of my life. Prick my conscience when I begin to be drawn to counterfeit gods. I love You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Jonah

Comments are closed.