The easy way

Scene from the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens in Boothbay, Maine

Scene from the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens in Boothbay, Maine

“They will turn their ears away from the truth and turn aside to myths.” 2 Timothy 4:4

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Amos 1-3 & Psalm 80 & 2 Timothy 4)

We don’t want to listen to hard truths.

We want to hear praise, encouragement, and positives.

When presented with hard truths we listen briefly and then switch to the more enjoyable truths.

God’s truths are clear and often hard. “Forgive others the way God forgave you.” Try living up to that one!

It becomes very clear that obeying God’s truths cannot be done in our own strength. We may get it right on occasion but over the long haul it just won’t happen. That’s because our strength is limited. God’s isn’t but will I avail myself of His strength instead of my own?

How often do I listen to truths that don’t apply to me? I sure enjoy hearing them! But when one latches onto me, let’s come back to that one later. Let’s not dwell on negatives. Let’s concentrate on what I’m doing right. God wants otherwise. He wants to take over entirely. He insists that I give my WHOLE life to Him. He is willing to wash clean every part of me. But will I submit to the needed scrubbing? It could hurt. It could be embarrassing. It could be the best thing I ever did!

“Lord, forgive me for avoiding Your hard truths. I want every area of my life to be Godly. Forgive me for avoiding Your discipline. I want to rightly represent You in everything I do. I must be filled with You to do it. I cannot pick and choose the full-surrender parts of me. It must be all or nothing. Take me entirely over, Father. I love You, Lord.”

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Timothy

Comments are closed.