Full-time good

Scene from the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens in Boothbay, Maine

Scene from the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens in Boothbay, Maine

“So that those who have trusted in God may be careful to devote themselves to doing what is good.” Titus 3:8

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Isaiah 1-3 & Titus 3)

I must live a Godly life.

There is no place for selfishness. That “good” I’m to do must be for others. I am not trying to make things better for myself.

I pray that God will give me His eyes and ears so that I can see and hear in my midst as He does. Sometimes there is deeper meaning to what is going on around me than I can sort out apart from His Holy Spirit.

I pray that God will control my thoughts and words. He knows what is going on in those areas.

I basically want Him in total control of my life. I continue to long for it. I continue to flounder in making it consistently happen. My problem is that I am not flooded with Him. I have tastes. I have sips. I even take an occasional full-sized “drink” of Him. But there is far more that I could intake. I know that I’m missing out as I watch my life have spiritual ups and downs in the midst I am currently in. It should not be that way.

The Bible is verrry clear on behavioral things; I must be completely Godly.

“Lord, I want to be saturated with You. I am obviously not taking in enough of You because my spiritual life is so erratic. At times I am pleased but more often I am embarrassed by the shallowness of it. I need You completely. Invade me. Overwhelm me. I want a full spiritual hit so that I can level off my behavior into a steady Godly pattern. I cannot do it without Your help. I love You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Titus

Comments are closed.