Godly instructions

Scene from the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens in Boothbay, Maine.

Scene from the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens in Boothbay, Maine.

“But you, dear friends, by building yourselves up in your most holy faith and praying in the Holy Spirit, keep yourselves in God’s love as you wait for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ to bring you to eternal life.” Jude 1:20

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Isaiah 4-5 & Psalm 115 & Jude)

Do I want to live for God in a godless world? Jude cuts to the chase and spells it out the “how to’s” in today’s verse.

A spiritual weakling like I am is an easy prey for any adverse breeze that comes my way. If my life is perfectly comfortable then I will almost certainly be a spiritual world beater. But let something go wrong (“service engine soon” light went on in my truck this morning) and the bottom drops out of my spirituality.

That reaction is a sure sign that I have only a semi-commitment to God. It is the fair weather version for sure.

I need to be connected to God through His Word and through other Godly people. I cannot just be reading His Word and writing about His Word. I need to internalize His Word to the level that I live it out in my midst.

My prayer life needs to be governed by the Holy Spirit. I often pray out my agenda rather than getting His agenda first and seeking His help in living it out.

I also need to remember that Jesus Christ is coming back. What a glorious event that will be! Knowing that I “win” in the end encourages me to live for Him in the now of this day.

“What do You want me doing, Father? I want to live in the full dose of Your Holy Spirit. I cannot live any longer in fair-weather commitment. It is fraudulent. I love You, Lord. Saturate me with Your Holy Spirit. I beg for it right now, Father. Thank You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Jude

Comments are closed.