Too late

Scene from the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens in Boothbay, Maine.

Scene from the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens in Boothbay, Maine.

“Then they will cry out to the Lord, but he will not answer them. At that time he will hide his face from them because of the evil they have done.” Micah 3:4

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Micah 1-4 & Hebrews 6)

There will come a time when time will run out.

There will be no more “do-over’s” for anyone.

What is, will be what will be judged.

This Micah verse spells out a sorry ending: God has distanced Himself from those who now seek Him. Their evil deeds have shut off any connection they had to Him.

Evil will be rewarded. It may not be right now but it will happen. There ultimately will be the day when every person who has ever lived will be judged by God. Everyone will bow before Him acknowledging that He is God. Even those who ignore Him now will be among those (finally) recognizing Who He is and being confronted about their evil deeds.

What a great day that will be for something like myself who has been saved from the consequences (eternal separation from God in the eternal after-life) of my sins. How did that happen? Jesus took my sins upon Himself and paid the price on the cross for those sins. I acknowledge that I am a sinner (easy admission!) and I also believe that He died for my sins. I am sorry for my sins and also I accept what He has done for me so that I avoid the consequences of my sins. I turn my life over to Him and strive, in His strength, to live the way He wants me to.

But for those who reject Him? At some point, the opportunity to be saved from the consequences of their sins will be gone as today’s verse states. NOW is the time to get yourself saved from those consequences. Avoid Hell!

“Father, I wonder if there are those reading this entry who have not faced the reality that there is an eternal after-life. Heaven or Hell are the only two eternal options. There will come a point at which the possibility for last-second conversions will end and judgment before You will happen. Enable those in need of You to take the steps mentioned earlier to get right with You. You are a great God. I thank You for providing a way to You in the after-life. I love You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Micah

Comments are closed.