Always and forever

"Consider the lily in my yard......"

“Consider the lily in my yard……”

“But because Jesus lives forever, he has a permanent priesthood. Therefore he is able to save completely those who come to God through him, because he always lives to intercede for them.” Hebrews 7:24-25

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – Micah 5-7 & Hebrews 7)

We can’t think in eternal times.

Things in our lives listed as “permanent” are not permanent at all. There’s an end to them. We won’t “always” be anything. Life ends. Circumstances change. We move on.

But God is different. He is eternal and therefore Jesus is as well.

Age will not impact God. As I age my abilities wane as well. Can’t move as fast. Can’t remember as well etc… But God is not limited by earthly parameters.

He is also not too busy. How frustrating it can be to call support for a product and the line is busy or there is an extended wait time. With God, nothing like that ever happens. He is omnipresent. (Another one of the many things that I can’t wrap my brain around.)

Interceding for me to God is what Jesus does. I pray to Jesus via the Holy Spirit and my words are presented by Jesus to the Father. And this arrangement for me is not going to change as long as I’m living!

I must remember to conceive of God as unlimited. He is forever. I am terminal. I can always interact with Him.

“Lord, I thank You for being here, there, and everywhere for me. You will not forsake me when I walk in Your Ways. Your interest in me does not wane. Prick my conscience when I lose touch with You. I need You every second.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Hebrews

Comments are closed.