Lord, I need You!

Some of the lilies in my midst in North Bridgton, Maine.

Some of the lilies in my midst in North Bridgton, Maine.

“Lord, be gracious to us; we long for you. Be our strength every morning, our salvation in time of distress.” Isaiah 33:2

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Isaiah 32-35 & James 2)

A perfect cry-out to the Lord.

The writer recognizes that God is in charge. What happens will happen under His direction.

The writer recognizes his neediness. He strongly desires to have a closeness with God.

The writer doesn’t want any gaps in his relationship to God. He wants to start His day connected to God.

The writer knows that his ultimate safety requires his being under God’s control.

All good thoughts, wouldn’t you say?

I am currently reading, “Storm,” by Jim Cymbala. One of the points in the book is how passive our prayers often are. Instead of storming heaven’s gates pleading for something to change we choose to be satisfied with whatever happens and let it be at that. Jim uses the story of barren Hannah. She finally wouldn’t take her condition anymore. “In her deep anguish Hannah prayed to the Lord, weeping bitterly.” – 1 Samuel 1:10. Further along in the chapter, “the Lord remembered her.”

At what level is the passion in my relation to God? To repeat Isaiah 33:2 from a Godly heart would be a terrific starting point in moving my passion in the direction it should be.

“Lord, I want the full dose of You. I cannot continue to live as a passive believer. I yearn for a connection to You that impacts me from head to toe. Forgive me for a shallowness in my relationship to You. You are not fooled by it or pleased. I surrender to You. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Isaiah

Comments are closed.