Abstain

Do you know the Creator of this lily?

Do you know the Creator of this lily?

“Dear friends, I urge you, as foreigners and exiles, to abstain from sinful desires, which wage war against your soul.” 1 Peter 2:11

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 2 Kings 20 & Isaiah 38-39 & Psalm 75 & 1 Peter 2)

Terrific advice for believers.

We are in this world but must not be under its control.

Note that this verse doesn’t reference sinful actions but instead, “sinful desires.”

This is more of God knowing what is going on inside of me. I must keep that part of me clean before Him as well.

Sometimes sinful desires will lead to sinful actions. Other times, those sinful desires float around inside me and cloud up my relationship to God.

I often refer to James 4:7 when I feel bothered by a sinful desire: “Submit yourselves, then to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.”

I can tell you from experience that sinful desires are not easily expelled. One takeaway from that difficulty is a renewed commitment to stay away from sinful influences. There is so much of that kind of stuff on the internet and on TV.

Nothing in this world must become a god to me. Nothing in this world must ever reach the can’t-do-without level. My loyalty must be to God only. I must be filled with Him and resisting, in His strength, the temptations for alternate allegiances.

“Lord, I thank You for the Bible. Plain and simple are many of the truths therein including today’s. Help me, Father, to be clean before You as You oust the sinful desires that so easily invade my life. I want to move in Your direction unencumbered by this world’s residue. Help me, I beg, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Peter

Comments are closed.