Seeing and hearing as God sees and hears

"O Lord, what a beauty!"

“O Lord, what a beauty!”

“For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous, and his ears are attentive to their prayer.” 1 Peter 3:12

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Isaiah 40-42 & 1 Peter 3)

God is tuned into us. He made us. He loves us. He wants a relationship with us.

I want to have God’s eyes and ears in my midst. My eyesight and hearing is pretty good by the world’s standards but often are very limited by God’s standards.

For me, Godly eyesight enables me to see things in my midst that I can do something Godly about.

For me, Godly hearing enables me to hear things in my midst that I can do something Godly about.

The possibilities for doing Godly things are unlimited. The issue is that I often miss them visually or audibly.

I learned today that someone I know is moving. A minimum registry of that information would be stored knowledge. But if I choose to hear that information with Godly ears, something different will happen. “Can I help?” or “How can I pray for you in the transition?”

When I take my daily walk through our lily fields doing my deadheading I can just see flowers. With Godly eyes those lilies become the creation of my Creator. He’s showing me a taste of what He’s capable of. I start to see Him in His creation when I have Godly eyes.

“Lord, I beg for Your eyes and ears in my midst. I miss You too much in my surroundings. I miss opportunities to rightly represent You in my midst. You are with me. Open my eyes and ears to that reality, I beg.”

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Peter

Comments are closed.