Activating the Holy Spirit

hwfm-August-2“If you love me, keep my commands. And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another advocate to help you and be with you forever – the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you.” John 14:15-17

(Today’s Scripture reading was; 2 Kings 21 & 2 Chronicles 33 & John 4)

I have taken a little side-trip today. I am pulling verses out of the “Andrew Murray Devotional.”

When I became a believer the Holy Spirit moved into my life. What I do with the Holy Spirit shows itself in how I live.

Today’s chosen verses tell me that if I want to activate the Holy Spirit, I must love God and keep His commands.

How easy to get into wanting the power of the Holy Spirit yet living godlessly. No wonder I am so spiritually weak!

How can I not love God? He has given me every good thing I have. And that just covers here on earth. I am guaranteed an after-life with Him because I believe in Him. My love for Him should be flowing with ease.

Keeping His commands? No excuse for not keeping them. In so many situations His commands are perfectly clear. In those cases, it certainly is not that I don’t understand them. What has happened is that I have foolishly switched my allegiance to a counterfeit god. Never ends well. Nothing but fool’s gold to say the least.

I want the Holy Spirit functioning in my life at full capacity. Nothing else is acceptable.

“Lord, I thank You for caring about me. I thank You for Your Holy Spirit within me. Forgive me for overriding His influence. I need guidance from You. Make me mindful of my status with You. I want the closest relationship possible. I am in desperate need of You. Help me, Father!”

Leave a comment

Filed under John

Comments are closed.