No excuses!

hwfm-August-8“But the Lord said to me, ‘Do not say, ‘I am too young….’” Jeremiah 1:7

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Jeremiah 1-2 & John 10)

God wanted to use Jeremiah but Jeremiah had excuses. God wouldn’t accept any of Jeremiah’s excuses.

Excuses are the work of doubters.

If God wants me to do something, He will give me the firepower to do it.

I doubt when I begin to assume that I will be working in my own strength. Good reason to doubt under that arrangement!

It is so easy to doubt. A common doubt for me is to assume that I cannot stay close to God throughout a day. I have quite a collection of excuses for that…………not a one of them is valid if His Strength is my strength.

I must walk full-time with Him. In so many days I have to stop and retrace my steps to correct sin. Things I thought. Things I watched. Things I said. Things I did. When will I get to the place where I can minimize the waywardness?

Today’s verse tells me to drop the excuses and instead trust Him. He knew me, as He says in Jeremiah 1, before I was born. In Him I can live as He wants me to live. Apart from Him I will continue to waste time in waywardness.

“Lord, You have the number of my days. Forgive me for wasting so many of the days I have had in godless pursuits. I know better. I know that in You I can do Your Will. Saturate me with Your Holy Spirit. Prick my conscience immediately when I sin so that I can change my way. I love You, Father, and want to please You only. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Jeremiah

Comments are closed.