God knows what I’m up to

hwfm-August-17“’Am I only a God nearby,’ declares the Lord, ‘and not a God far away?’ declares the Lord. ‘Do not I fill heaven and earth?’ declares the Lord.” Jeremiah 23:23-24

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – Jeremiah 23 & 25 and John 19)

God’s in the neighborhood……….no matter where that neighborhood may be.

The idea that God is everywhere is comforting when I am praying for someone not in my midst. I know that God is already where that person is. In praying, I agree to join Him there and thank Him that He is already there.

My life is an open book to God. There are no secrets. No “nobody knows” with Him. To the godless, fooling God this way is no big deal. Their concern is that someone they know might find out.

Another Scripture point is that I must work with the realization that God is watching. Taking advantage of not being supervised is never an option.

In these Jeremiah verses the reference is back to false prophets. They were claiming that God told them things. Point? God knows my thoughts. He knows when I’m telling the truth. He knows what was and is mindful of my recollections of it.

The pressure is on to please Him without ceasing. I don’t need God to be my “co-pilot.” I need Him to be the pilot and I need to be the one climbing into the plane asking Him to take me where He wants me to be.

“Lord, I thank You for Your Presence. I want You involved in my life. I crave Your leadership. I crave Your insights. Guide me, I beg.”

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Jeremiah

Comments are closed.