Tune in to Him

hwfm-August-19“Look to the Lord and his strength; seek his face always. Remember the wonders he has done…..” Psalm 105:4-5

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – Jeremiah 45-47 & Psalm 105 & John 21)

Nothing half-hearted about this!

Make the commitment and it better be full-time.

What does a full-time commitment look like? One piece is that things in my surroundings trigger thoughts of Him. I see/hear a bird and I realize how unique each one is and that God knows about each one of them. Another piece is hearing the never-ending doom and gloom of the news and being confident in God’s Word that believers win in the end.

My mind needs to be filled with God’s thoughts. I have to know Scripture for that to have any chance of happening. His promises are numerous, but how quickly do they come to my mind? Am I regularly memorizing Scripture? Can I get Scripture into conversations in an uncontrived manner?

I recall listening to a blind man preach in Bermuda. He had no notes but he went on for close to thirty minutes reciting only Scriptures that connected. It flowed beautifully.

I must remember to follow God’s lead in all that I do. I cannot get into an activity and THEN ask Him to bless me. That’s backwards! There are no “obvious” things that I’m sure He wants me doing. I must be willing to “seek his face always” and then do what He wants me doing.

“Lord, I need You leading me. Forgive me for overlooking my need for You. Deliver me from evil. I am so easily led into it. Your marvels are all around me. Open my eyes/ears to them. I want Your Holy Spirit to take control of every part of me. Prick my conscience when I mess this up. I love You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.