Are you lying?

hwfm-August-20“If we claim to have fellowship with him and yet walk in darkness, we lie and do not live out the truth.” 1 John 1:6

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Jeremiah 48-49 & Psalm 67 & 1 John 1)

I certainly won’t deny that I am a believer but does my life confirm it?

How frustrating it is for a believer to commit the same sin over and over. There is no doubt that the action is a sin and there is no doubt that this same sin is committed repeatedly. It should not be!

Sometimes I think that recognized sin is a way that God keeps me humble. I want to think that in Him I can completely live a life pleasing to Him. And before long I’m in the muck and mire.

I still believe that I can completely live a life pleasing to Him. The frustrating part, as I mentioned above, is the repetition of known sins. Why can’t I get a handle to them??

Maybe it’s because those sins are so ingrained that their removal may take a lifetime.

I watch the news and view the sin of lives tossed before millions. How easy it is to judge. I must remember that sin only comes in one size and I’m as guilty of it as anyone.

I must walk in continual fellowship with God. Many times during each day I must take a quick check of my fellowship level with Him. I know that He is a God nearby as well as far away but that has nothing to do with my personal fellowship with Him. It must be tight and ongoing.

“Lord, forgive me for not living as I should. My walk with You is not always close. Prick my conscience when I am loosening my side of fellowship with You. I want You close to me all the time. Guide me, Father.”

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 John

Comments are closed.