Pray locally

hwfm-August-22“Also, seek the peace and prosperity of the city to which I have carried you into exile. Pray to the Lord for it, because if it prospers, you too will prosper.” Jeremiah 29:7

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Jeremiah 28-30 & 1 John 3)

Do you ever think to pray for the folks (beyond your family) in your midst?

In this verse, Jeremiah (from the Lord) seems to be advising that.

It is certainly logical that if the area I live in is doing well then I will enjoy the overflow of it. The reverse is likewise true.

I believe that it is important that I am located where God wants me to be. An important willingness on my part is to assure God that I insist on wanting to be in the place He wants me to be. He may want me to move. Am I willing?

If I am where God wants me to be then I need to become a prayer warrior for that place. How can I help? Is there a need I can fill? God must open my eyes/ears to where He wants me to become involved.

I have not yet started praying for the people in leadership roles in the town I live in. I don’t even know their names! Who are the selectmen? Is there a town manager or a mayor?

I have been praying for the President and his family for some time. I need to add the leadership locals to my prayer list.

“Thank You Lord for insights. I surely need to pray for those in my midst beyond my family. I thank You for the place You have put me in. If You want me elsewhere then please lead me there, I pray. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Jeremiah

Comments are closed.