If your god the real God?

hwfm-August-24“Dear children, keep yourselves from idols.” 1 John 5:21

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Jeremiah 33-34 & Psalm 74 & 1 John 5)

What is most important to me?

What occupies my time and thoughts?

Anything more important to me than God is a counterfeit god.

When I start to think that if I have something then I’ll be happy, I am chasing a counterfeit god. Everything, other than God, is terminal. It will change. It will end.

For some folks their counterfeit god is health. If I am healthy then I will be happy they think. How logical is that? Think of the healthy folks you know that are miserable?

I remember back in the early days of the Super Bowl. It was a huge event with few other events taking away attention to it. I was fully enthralled with the buildup and the actual game itself. I recall suddenly thinking after the game finally ended that a Monday would follow. The Super Bowl hadn’t really satisfied me because I realized that I would need to see more Super Bowls in order to attempt to satisfy myself. My over-fascination with the Super Bowl had given it counterfeit god status.

I need to examine how I use my time. What is getting my minutes/hours and have they reached counterfeit god status. Am I entering the, “I’ll be happy if,” zone?

My ultimate happiness must be in my relationship to God. Nothing can infringe on it no matter how alluring it appears. Does that mean that I don’t watch the Super Bowl? No. But it does mean that I see the event’s importance in relation to God’s importance. Would I give up watching the Super Bowl if God wanted it? The answer better be, “Yes.”

“Lord, I thank You for Your Word. I want nothing to take Your place in my life. Prick my conscience when I elevate anything to a “god” level. You are the One I follow. There must be no other “leaders” in my life. Clean out the sludge in my life so that I don’t miss the urgings of the Holy Spirit. I love You, Father so much.”

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 John

Comments are closed.