The Lord’s Prayer (Psalms version)

hwfm-August-27“Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I entrust my life. Rescue me from my enemies, Lord, for I hide myself in you. Teach me to do your will, for you are my God; may your good Spirit lead me on level ground.” Psalm 143:8-10

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – Jeremiah 52 & Revelation 1 & Psalm 143-144)

What a way to start each day! I intend to memorize these verses and have them as day-starters. How about you??

There is a bit of the Lord’s Prayer in these verses.

The chosen verses cover a lot of territory. I start with Him and ask for directions. I ask for help where needed and profess loyalty to Him. I ask for instructions that lead me to where He wants me to be. What more would I want!

I want to rightly represent God for the entire day. There can’t be any “down” time.

God demands complete surrender to Him. He doesn’t want me mingling with counterfeit gods. How easily I wander in their directions.

I have the Holy Spirit in me ready and willing to guide any part of me that I will surrender to Him.

I believe that the Holy Spirit operates through my thoughts when I am tuned to Him. I get a quick idea of something I need to do or a quick idea to avoid something. The thoughts are short and quickly gone but important for me to catch.

Another way the Holy Spirit is active within me is when I read Scripture. A verse suddenly locks into something that I need to be aware of in my life or in someone else’s life.

God wants to get my attention. Will I open my life entirely to Him so that His attention-getting intrusions are ongoing?

“Thank You, Father, for Your Word. I have so much to learn about what You want me doing. Help me, Lord. Take me completely over.”

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm, Psalms

Comments are closed.