How frightening is this!

“Then the glory of the Lord departed from over the threshold of the temple and stopped above the cherubim. While I watched, the cherubim spread their wings and rose from the ground and as they went, the wheels went with them. They stopped at the entrance of the east gate of the Lord’s house, and the glory of the God of Israel was above them.” Ezekiel 10:18-19

(Verses not included in today’s Bible reading – Ezekiel 12-14 & Revelation 5)

I know, the verse I use has always been from the reading of the day.

However as I was reading today’s portion of Ezekiel I started thinking about yesterday’s portion of Ezekiel. Suddenly I realized that in that section had been a truly disturbing story that was now getting my attention.

God is leaving the temple in Jerusalem! This was where the folks of the area could came to pray and worship with the knowledge that God resided there.

Now He is leaving. Ezekiel saw and described the event.

The reason God was leaving was because those in Jerusalem had chosen to follow other gods. God is a jealous God.

The folks in Jerusalem didn’t care about God and believed that they would be able to resist the Babylonians. The false prophets had told them so and the people were quite confident in their own strength. How wrong they were!

How easy it is to look at today’s verses and wonder what was wrong with these people. But before I harshly judge others, I must be mindful of the times I’ve loosened my grip on God. When my relationship with Him has waned and I have looked to counterfeit gods for what only He can give me.

I label this incident as “frightening” because I started to realize what fear I would have if God left me. If I found Him less needed. If I relied on myself. The thought that I would do such a thing scared me. How could I be so foolish? Where would I turn to find all that He gives me?

I can never let go of Him in my life. There is no one else I want to cling to. He has all I will ever need.

“O Lord, forgive me for loosening my relationship to You. I need You at the center of my life. I need Your leadership. I need to be able to seek You unceasingly and know that You are a God nearby. You are my God.”

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Ezekiel

Comments are closed.