I need You, Lord!

cb-eagle“But as for me, I am poor and needy; come quickly to me, O God. You are my help and my deliverer; Lord, do not delay.” Psalm 70:5

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Ezekiel 15-16 & Psalm 70 & Revelation 6)

David was desperate!

I do not know what problem he was praying about but I do know that he knew where to go for help.

So many in our day are not desperate enough for God. In their view, God is not someone you turn to when manageable things become unmanageable. Why? Because they think that they can concoct a solution by themselves.

Often when the non-desperate become believers they do a nice mix of Godly and worldly as they live their lives. Alert God when things get really rough otherwise do them yourself.

The real needy are different. Little is manageable in their lives. They are well aware that they need help. God becomes a worthy Savior.

I must be so careful to understand that for me to relate rightly with God I must be convinced of my neediness. There can’t be any room for counterfeit gods allowed. I must trust in the Lord with all my heart………that doesn’t leave any room for trusting anything else.

I must start each day needing God. I dare not ever start thinking I’ll get things Godly on my own. Won’t happen!

“Father, forgive me for missing my neediness. I absolutely must have You providing for me because You know exactly what I need in every area of my life. Enlighten me to what I should and should not be doing. I get so loose from You so easily. Help me there I beg, Father.”

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.