God is the only one you can fully trust

hwfm-Sept-6“Egypt will no longer be a source of confidence for the people of Israel but will be a reminder of their sin in turning to her for help.” Ezekiel 29:16

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Ezekiel 29-32 & Revelation 11)

If you read the Old Testament, one of the underlying themes becomes clearer and clearer: God is a jealous God.

The people were so prone to looking elsewhere for what only God could supply. Making idols seems to have been big business.

They thought, “Now we have a god we can see and have with us.” And so the real God was ignored and disregarded.

Sadly, some of the ignorers had history that showed that God existed and had done great things. Still they chose to find god elsewhere in something made of wood or stone.

Seems so foolish to imagine worshipping a piece of wood. Yet in our day we have our own collection of counterfeit gods. (Anything that I elevate above God is a counterfeit god.)   Things like my job, or family or anything actually. How easy it is to slip into giving them more loyalty then they should have.

I need to keep a close eye on myself so that I don’t slide away from God.

Today’s verse shows us where Israel took a wrong turn. They put their trust in Egypt to save them rather than God. God’s reaction was as expected. You never get the sense that God gives anyone a pass when they turn away from Him. It is flat out something you just don’t do.

“Lord, You are my Savior. There is no other. Forgive me for looking elsewhere ever. I should know better just from reading Your Word. Prick my conscience when I stray from You. I love You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Ezekiel

Comments are closed.