Who’s in charge?

hwfm-Sept-7“This is what Cyrus king of Persia says; ‘The Lord, the God of heaven, has given me all the kingdoms of the earth…..” 2 Chronicles 36:23

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – 2 Kings 25 & 2 Chronicles 36 & Jeremiah 40-41 & Revelation 12)

We’re not talking about some small-time leader here. Cyrus may have been the most powerful leader of his day.

And what does this powerful leader say? God has enabled me to have what I have.

How true what Cyrus said was. God is in charge. Cyrus knew that his prominence had been orchestrated by God.

I must be eager to give God the credit for what I have. As soon as I slide away from that I run headlong into the jealousy of God.

“Every good gift and every perfect gift comes from above.”

I believe that it is essential that I am a Godly steward of what He gives me and I must be quick to praise Him for what I have.

How easy it is to lose track of what I have been given. I have a “Thank You” notepad that I keep in our living room. I walk through that room often and try to stop and list things that I am thankful for. The everyday things start coming to mind like sunshine/rain, food, and friendship etc…

“Lord, You are well worthy of all my praise. Forgive me for starting to assume that I deserve what I have. It is all a gift from You. Help me to use what You have given me in a Godly manner. Help me to be continually thankful for Your love for me and my family. Thank You, Father.”

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Chronicles

Comments are closed.