Pride will get me

“And those who walk in pride he is able to humble.” Daniel 4:37

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Daniel 3-4 & Psalm 81 & Revelation 17)

Daniel warned Nebuchadnezzar.

Daniel interpreted Nebuchadnezzar’s dream by telling the king that there was disaster ahead for him. Daniel suggested that maybe if the king changed his wicked ways then bad things might not come his way.

Did Nebuchadnezzar change? A year later he uttered, according to him, this rhetorical question: “Is not this the great Babylon I have built as the royal residence, by my mighty power and for the glory of my majesty?”

No change noted and instantly what Daniel had predicted came true. Nebuchadnezzar took to grazing until he got himself straight with God.

Nebuchadnezzar was arguably the most powerful man on the earth of his day. Yet when he credited himself for securing what he had, he learned the hard way that God is in charge.

There is no one beyond God’s reach. He elevates some and lowers others.

Believing that I ever stand on my own merit is folly. My only real security is in God. I must trust Him and bloom in a spirit of thankfulness where I’m planted.

God has given me so many wonderful things. I didn’t earn them and I can’t rightly take credit for them. I must think of what happened to King Nebuchadnezzar when I foolishly wander down that credit-taking route!

“Thank You for this clear teaching: You have put me where I am. I dare not take credit for anything. I can’t earn it. I can’t deserve it. It’s from You. Forgive me for ever elevating myself over what You have given me. I deserve nothing. You have chosen to bless me with so much. Thanks goes solely to You. I love You, Father.”

(+23 – I must keep my body fit for the service of the Lord.)hwfm-Sept-12

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Daniel

Comments are closed.