Getting it right

“As for everyone who comes to me and hears my words and puts them into practice, I will show you what they are like. They are like a man building a house, who dug down deep and laid the foundation on rock.   When a flood came, the torrent struck that house but could not shake it, because it was well built.” Luke 6:47-48

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Daniel 11-12 & Luke 6)

Sometimes there is a long distance between hearing and doing.

Jesus tells the story above to show the importance of the “doing” part.

Often when the “doing” part is getting done it doesn’t seem important to do it. Think of Noah building the ark.

But when Jesus tells us to do something He knows the future. He is not guessing. I bought an ice rake after last winter. I don’t know if there will ever be a winter with 100+” of snow again so my purchase may have been unnecessary. With God it’s different………..He knows what will happen in the future.

The more I read the Bible the more I am aware that there is plenty of instruction. I need to take that instruction to heart. When Jesus tells me in Luke 6 to “love my enemies,” I have to make a determined effort to do it. I can’t pass the instructions off as something for somebody else. The Bible is written to me.

“Lord, open my mind to absorb Your Word. I want Your Word to be my words. Forgive me for speaking independently of You. Do not leave me. Surround me with Yourself. Give me Godly eyes and ears in my midst. Give me Your Words in the same place. I need You every second. I love You, Lord.”hwfm-sept-23

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.