God the mover

“….the Lord moved the heart of Cyrus king of Persia to make a proclamation…” Ezra 1:1

“Then the family heads of Judah and Benjamin, and the priests and Levites – everyone whose heart God had moved – prepared to go….” Ezra 1:5

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – Ezra 1 & Psalms 84-85 & Luke 7)

Here we get acquainted with God the Mover.

A familiar saying is: If you want to get something done, do it yourself. God takes matters into His own hands in Ezra 1, first getting Cyrus on board and then adding Jewish leaders.

The task was to return to Jerusalem and rebuild things after seventy years in exile.

God is all-powerful. He could do everything Himself. But often He chooses people to do His bidding. Sometimes the people don’t even know that He’s using them. Example? God hardened Pharaoh’s heart. Pharaoh had no plans to help God but he did because God moved on him not to do something.

I want to be always ready to be moved by God. I crave for His, “Do this,” and His, “Don’t do this.” I am prone to walking away from His Way. Sometimes I imagine that my way is His Way. It usually isn’t but unless I am in a tight relationship with Him I’ll follow me instead of Him.

“Lord, I want Your Holy Spirit moving freely in me. I want to be prodded and halted as each of life’s situations requires. I do not trust myself. For to You I entrust my life. Prick my conscience when I am missing Your directions. Teach me to do Your Will for You are my God.”hwfm-sept-24

Leave a comment

Filed under Ezra

Comments are closed.