Eyes and Ears

“….though seeing, they may not see; though hearing, they may not understand.” Luke 8:10

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Ezra 2-3 & Luke 8)

Jesus was speaking in everyday language but many in His audience didn’t understand.

Why? They weren’t tuned in.

I can tell you that a serious storm is minutes away and you can pay no attention to what I said. You heard the words but the implication didn’t connect for you.

I have lately been striving to hear and see better. I’m not talking hearing aids and/or new glasses although they may be on my horizon. What I am getting at is trying to hear and see as God hears and sees.

I have found that when I deliberately set myself up to hear and see as God does, I start catching things differently.

My wife says, “We need to pack.” Minus God, I hear “pack” and want to delay/avoid doing it. With God, I hear I need to tell her when I will do it. Big difference, don’t you think??

Seeing can be the same way. With God’s eyes I can not only see something where it shouldn’t be, but I can take action to see that the out-of-place item gets placed where it belongs.

Try this: Go into a room and close the door. Close your eyes and ask God to reveal to you audibly and visually what He wants you to hear and see. When you are finished doing that return to the rest of the house. Trust me, you will be amazed by what happens to your hearing and vision.

“Father, I want to hear and see in my midst as You hear and see. I can’t do either in a Godly fashion without You. Take over my hearing and seeing. I don’t want to miss opportunities to rightly represent You because I’m spiritually deaf and blind. Help me, Father, I beg.”hwfm-sept-25

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.