Am I ready?

“Be dressed ready for service and keep your lamps burning, like servants waiting for their master to return from a wedding banquet, so that when he comes and knocks they can immediately open the door for him.” Luke 12:35

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Zechariah 4-6 & Luke 12)

Am I ready to do what God wants me to do?

Are there things I “have to do” before I’m ready?

God knows my heart. He knows what is important to me. If anything else is raised by me above Him, then I have introduced a counterfeit god into my life.

Thinking about being ready. It is a never ending thing. There can’t be any “away-from-Him” time.

How do I stay with Him? Part of it is being mindful when I have drifted away from Him. When I get so engrossed in what I’m doing, I best be doing something He wants me doing. I therefore need frequent checks: “Father, am I doing what You want?” I need to be quick to change if He leads me to change.

I think that I have to have Him dominating my thoughts. One work in progress for me is getting appropriate verses into my head and repeating them often. I have latched onto Psalm 143:8-10: “Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I entrust my life. Rescue me from my enemies, Lord, for I hide myself in you. Teach me to do your will, for you are my God.”

“Father, there is so much that is wrong with the way I live. I want to always be ready/able to serve You. I need cleansing. I need instruction. I open every part of me to the Holy Spirit. Take every part of me over. Rip open doors that are concealing godlessness in my life. I must be Your servant. I love You, Father.”

Are you acceptable in God’s sight?

hwfm-sept-29

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.