What pleases God?

“The Lord delights in those who fear him, who put their hope in his unfailing love.” Psalm 147:11

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Zechariah 13-14 & Psalm 147 & Luke 15)

Believers must be having a love affair with God? Why? God sent Jesus to take on the consequences of our sins and thereby make us acceptable to Him. If we had remained unacceptable, we would have spent our after-life separated from God. BUT GOD saved us from the consequence we deserved.

Because of what God did for us, we should be doing everything we can to “delight” Him.

God gives us two ways, in this verse, to do just that: (1) we need to fear Him, and (2) we need to put our trust in Him.

“Fear” doesn’t mean, “to be afraid of,” in this verse. It means to have, great respect for. And why shouldn’t we have great respect for God after what He has done for us??

The second part of the verse tells us where to put our trust. By doing that, it infers where we shouldn’t put our trust……….counterfeit gods.

God’s love for us is not the fair weather variety. It is “unfailing.” We can always count on His love no matter what is happening around us.

Sounds like good advice to me. My goal is to please God in any way I can.

“Lord, You are my God. Holy Spirit, take over every part of me. I want Your influence to be the guiding force in my life. Prick my conscience when I loosen my grip with You. I love You.”

Are you acceptable to God?

hwfm-oct-2

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.