Full-Time love for God

“So you also, when you have done everything you were told to do, should say, ‘We are unworthy servants; we have only done our duty.” Luke 17:10

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Esther 1-2 & Psalm 150 & Luke 17)

Our love for God has limitations. It is up and down. It is high and low. What it isn’t is steady.

We do stuff and then we slack off.

When we really love God we will be willing to do anything for Him. Not only that, we are never conscious of a reward. We, in fact, don’t want a reward. We just want to do whatever it takes to show our love for Him.

Why all this need to show Him love? Let me explain: We are sinners. The consequences of our sin is eternal separation from God in the after-life. There is nothing we can do about it. BUT GOD could do something and did. He sent Jesus to earth to die on the cross and pay for the consequences of our sins. That being done, if I believe that I am a doomed sinner and also that Jesus died to cover the consequences of my sins then I am saved from the consequences of my sins. I am also ready to give my life to serving God and loving Him any way I can.

Therefore, I am driven to show love to God. I don’t measure the cost. I don’t quibble on the details. I just endeavor to show Him timeless love.

When we start thinking, “I did this for God,” He knows that he has a bare-minimum individual on hand. That is what this verse is talking about.

I must make the total commitment to God. I must slide out of the driver’s seat and go wherever He wants me to go, doing whatever He wants me to do. No time management required.

“Lord, forgive me for limiting my commitment to You. For hedging my bet. For doing things apart from You. I want to be God-driven in everything. Show me what You want to do, for You are my God.”

Are you acceptable to God?

hwfm-oct-4

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.