Pray first

“The king said to me, ‘What is it you want?’ Then I prayed to the God of heaven, and I answered the king.” Nehemiah 2:4

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Nehemiah 1-2 & Psalm 133-134 & Luke 22)

This is Nehemiah at his role-model best.

Notice that Nehemiah makes the most important pause that any of us can ever make. Nehemiah gets the question and BEFORE he answers, Nehemiah shoots a quick prayer to God.

I must do the same thing. How often do I get myself into spiritual quicksand but blurting out responses before involving God? The answer is, “Way too often.”

I have occasions where words are flowing from me and I’m already regretting them. I want to stop mid-sentence and reel them back but on I blurt. Happy endings almost never result.

I must be in close relationship with God full-time. Getting loose will sooner or later lead me into spiritual trouble.

How much better it is to connect to God and have His Words flowing out of me. They are the best for sure. That they are the “right” words doesn’t necessarily mean that they will be well received but God is in the midst of them and that is best.

I need to be more prayerful during the day. The fact that I don’t have to kneel or close my eyes allows to pray where I am.

Quick prayers keep me thinking Godly thoughts.

“Lord, I never want to let go of You. Thank You for Nehemiah’s example. He heard. He prayed. He acted. Help me, Lord, to follow the same pattern. Prick my conscience when I mess it up to that I can repent and seek restoration. I love You, Lord.”

Are you acceptable to God?

+18 – Take care of the temple.

hwfm-oct-9

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Nehemiah

Comments are closed.