Prayer and action

“They all plotted together to come and fight against Jerusalem and stir up trouble against it. But we prayed to our God AND posted a guard day and night to meet this threat.” Nehemiah 4:8-9

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – Nehemiah 3-4 & Luke 23)

The Lord is very patient with us.

In today’s chosen verses, the exiles pray and then take action.

How often do we pray and then expect God to do all the heavy lifting? I prayed, we think, and now everything will fall into place. Doesn’t usually work that way, does it?

After praying to God for protection, they decide to post a guard. God wanted them to be part of their own protection.

God is willing to direct my path. Am I tuned in to Him enough to get directions and then carry them out?

I ask for a new vehicle. Should I wait for Him to drop one into my driveway? Of course not!   Instead, I pray, “Lord, You see my need for another vehicle. Direct me into getting another one.” That still small voice (my conscious) then suggests that I do or not do something in order to make the purchase of another vehicle possible. Often times, action on my part is required. I just have to be alert to hearing what I should do and be willing to do it.

The exiles needed protection so that the rebuilding of Jerusalem’s walls could continue. They prayed and THEN set up guards to protect them round the clock.

“Lord, some of the things I need to do, or not do, are very obvious. Forgive me for not being tuned in enough to get Your frequent hints about what to do…..or not do. Praying is one thing but taking action after praying is crucial. Direct me, I beg. I am lost, or about to get lost, apart from You. I need You every second. I yield myself NOW to You. I love You, Father.”

Are you acceptable to God?

+18 – Too much body!

hwfm-oct-10

Leave a comment

Filed under Nehemiah

Comments are closed.