God is tired of it

“You have wearied the Lord with your words. ‘How have we wearied him?’ you ask. By saying, ‘All who do evil are good in the eyes of the Lord, and he is pleased with them’ or ‘Where is the God of justice?’” Malachi 2:17

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Nehemiah 13 & Malachi 1-2 & Acts 4)

These folks neither walked the walk nor talked the talk.

These folks had an idea of what God would be like. The God they were dealing with kept coming up short.

These folks wanted evil punished on their own terms. They couldn’t grasp why evil continued unless God somehow approved of it. They couldn’t grasp how a God of justice would let evil continue.

So they complained about God. Note that they didn’t complain TO God.

I recall how Job did some of the same thing. He looked at God through his own perspective and found God to be unsatisfying. And then God spoke to Job. Talk about getting leveled! “Where were you (Job) when I did this that and the other thing?” Job was rightly humbled.

The folks referenced in Malachi would soon be getting “leveled” by God, and deservedly so.

I must not try to figure out God’s Ways. His understanding is beyond me now and likely into the after-life. I need to trust Him. I need to believe that He knows what He is doing. I need to elevate my relationship to Him to always and forever.

“Lord, I need You every second. Forgive me for ever second-guessing what You do. There is evil in the world and it will play itself into reality. But You are over all. You can intervene at Your Will. I ask for that intervention on behalf of my family. Some don’t know You. Some have moved away from You. I lower them before You. Cleanse me from sin. Fill me with You. Embolden me with Your Strength. I can do nothing good without You. I love You, Lord.”

Are you acceptable to God?

+19 – Disregard continues for God’s temple.

hwfm-oct-15

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Malachi

Comments are closed.