God had other plans

“’You are well aware that it is against our law for a Jew to associate with or visit a Gentile. But God has shown me that I should not call anyone impure or unclean.’” Acts 10 28

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Job 5 & Psalm 108 & Acts 10-11)

BUT God.

Peter had his own ideas about the Gentiles and they weren’t good.

But while Peter is praying God gets his attention via a trance and corrects Peter. The Gentiles are no longer out of the loop of God’s intervention. The way for them to become believers is thrust wide open. The Gentiles can believe and be saved from sin’s consequences just as Jews can.

One lesson out of this story is the wonder of prayer. A lot of us do it with great frequency. And what better place for us to pick up a message from God. You’re praying to God, “What do You want me to do now?” Suddenly a thought comes into your head of something you could/should do. That thought didn’t just happen to show up. It was a gift from God.

Peter was praying and this made it easy for God to get through to him.

Another lesson is to frequently get spiritual alignment. What seems like a good idea today, may not be right in the future. God works best with flexible believers. If we get into the, “I’ll-do-anything-BUT,” mode we’re in trouble. “I’ll serve You BUT only in this place.” God knows our strengths and weaknesses. He will not put us in places where He cannot bless us. However, we must start by letting go of the controls in our lives.

“Lord, I want You in charge of me. I will mess things up royally on my own, and have done just that far too often. I thank You that I can connect to You whenever and wherever. What a blessing that is! Help me to know Your Will this day. I want to please You, Father. Guide me O thou great Jehovah.”

Are you acceptable to God?

+17 – Progress.

hwfm-oct-19

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.