Bringing others along

“Last night an angel of the God to whom I belong and whom I serve stood beside me and said, ‘Do not be afraid, Paul. You must stand trial before Caesar; and God has graciously given you the lives of all who sail with you.’” Acts 27:23-24

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – Job 18 & Psalm 114 & Acts 27-28)

I don’t imagine that Paul was real popular on the boat taking him to Rome. He didn’t mince words and I suspect that many of the 276 on board were offended by him.

But because Paul was in their midst, God chose to spare everyone in the storms they were facing and would face.

Paul had already been used by God to heal people. Now he’s used by God to spare people’s lives.

If I am doing God’s Will, I can never be sure of how it will impact those around me. And my driver shouldn’t be to see what I can personally gain by God’s Will……………just attempt to do It.

Paul had a Godly influence everywhere he was. He never seemed to hedge or accommodate. Sometimes he was well received while other times there were attempts on his life.

My relationship with God must be close enough that I can live without godless restraint.

A big part of my life is trying to please Him. How easily I look to please Him elsewhere and miss so many opportunities right where He has placed me.

Paul was in a spot where restraint might have seemed to be the safest thing to do. However, instead he allowed himself to be led by God. In doing so, he saved his own life as well as all of those who sailed with him.

“Lord, I need You controlling me every second. I need to acknowledge Your Presence and react under Its influence. I fear that too much time is spent unaware of You. I have not forgotten You, instead I co-chair with You. There must be no “co” in our relationship! Help me, Father.”

Are you acceptable to God?

+15 – Holding ground.

ja24

Leave a comment

Filed under Acts

Comments are closed.