Godless thinking………….and speaking

“But when Jesus turned and looked at his disciples, he rebuked Peter. ‘Get behind me, Satan!’ he said. ‘You do not have in mind the concerns of God, but merely human concerns.’” Mark 8:33

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible study – Job 22 & Mark 7-8)

Peter had it right just a few verses before today’s chosen verse: “You are the Messiah.”

A few verses later, he falls off the rails!

Jesus (God Incarnate) is telling the disciples what He is going to do. Peter loses track of Who Jesus is and decides to advise Him on what to do.

Seems hard to imagine a close follower doing such a thing but maybe, like us, Peter had times of closeness to Godly thinking/speaking and times not so close.

I had such a time very recently. Things were going smoothly. God’s Hand was clear in events and surroundings. But then a (simple) request was made and I cashed in everything Godly for a segment of godlessness.

My relationship with God must be overwhelming me. I must be overflowing with Him. If not, the segments of godlessness will continue to happen.

I thank God that today’s Scripture was part of my reading because it didn’t take me long to see that the New Testament Peter had more in common with me that just his name!

“Lord, forgive me for moving anywhere without You. It will be a godless mess sooner or later. Fill me with You. I want Your Holy Spirit in total charge of my life. I beg to learn more of Your Ways through prayer/Bible reading/instruction. Help me to use my time wisely and to pursue You actively in it. You are my God. Hallelujah!

Are you acceptable to God?

+14 – Holding steady.

hwfm-October-31

Leave a comment

Filed under Mark

Comments are closed.