Who do you think you are?

“Who is this that obscures my plans with words without knowledge?” Job 38:2

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Job 37-38 & 1 Corinthians 12)

Job wanted to connect to God so that he can explain that his suffering is for no reason. When it finally happens Job certainly gets an earful!

God’s answer is that Job knows little of what He does and understands even less. God’s point? I know what I’m doing and you never will. Put your trust in me without reservations.

How easy it is to wonder why things happen. How come a friend recently died from cancer? How come scoundrels around the world continue to slaughter believers?

This thinking narrows God to my parameters and that’s the problem. My parameters are miniscule. When I start to see God’s size, as He explained it to Job, I am struck by my limitations to understand things.

God doesn’t talk about things such as, “Where were you when the Red Sox won the World Series?” His questions relate to my understanding of where light comes from. I certainly don’t know the answer but I’m comfortable in my ignorance if I recognize that God created the heavens and the earth. There is an answer and God is it and has it.

Woe to those who will only believe what they can figure out. They have much to learn from Job’s experience.

“Lord, You are the Creator. I trust You. You know what is best. I ask for direction so that I can please You this day. Cleanse me of obstructions to my doing Your Will. Enable me to rightly represent You in every place I am today. Thank You, Father!”

Are you acceptable to God?

+13 – lasagna

hwfm-November-12

Leave a comment

Filed under Job

Comments are closed.