What say you?

“The Lord said to Job: ‘Will the one who contends with the Almighty correct him? Let him who accuses God answer him!’” Job 40-1-2

(Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading – Job 39-40 & 1 Corinthians 13-14)

In the previous two chapters God asked Job a slew of questions all of them itemizing marvels of God’s creation that no human could imagine creating.

In these chosen verses God directly confronts Job about whether or not he still wants to correct Him.

It was a totally humiliating moment for Job and he was quick to respond, “I am unworthy – how can I reply to you?”

If I am tuned into God’s greatness I will not look at anything that happens with the slightest thought that God missed that one or God got it wrong etc.…

God knows what He is doing and always has. My view of Him is so limited and limiting. I see through a glass darkly.

I must put my complete trust in Him. There is a God behind the scenes in total charge in what often seems chaotic from my view. Everything Job had was wiped out. He didn’t understand why and so he became angry at God for it. Now, after God has interacted with him, Job is humbled that he ever questioned God’s intentions.

I do not know what God has planned for me. I, in fact, do not even know how long I’ll be alive. I mention that because this AM while I was walking, I saw a trailer break loose on the roadway I was facing and veer across the sidewalk behind me at a very high speed. I was on that section of sidewalk two seconds earlier. The earthly span of my existence continues!

“Lord, You are in control of everything. I will never be able to fathom You. But I can thank You for what I know You had Jesus do for me on the cross. I thank You for the assurance of an after-life with You. Forgive me for ever questioning You. I love You, Father.”

Are you acceptable to God?

+13 – Steady

hwfm-November-13

Leave a comment

Filed under Job

Comments are closed.