He is risen!

“But Christ has indeed been raised from the dead, the firstfruits of those who have fallen asleep.” 1 Corinthians 15:20

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Psalm 149 & 1 Corinthians 15-16)

Christ defeated death when He was brought back to life.

Why is that important? Christ made numerous references to the after-life. In order for any of it to be believable, He would have to be alive to carry things out. How could He sort the “sheep and the goats” on Judgment Day if He is still in a grave in Jerusalem?

Christ appeared to hundreds of people after He came back from the dead and before He ascended to heaven.

The beauty for me of all of this is that the after-life promises of Scripture become true. He is different from any other great religious leader. Death ended their careers. Any of their words about what will happen after death lose any sense of authenticity because death did them in.

Jesus, on the other hand, got past death. His after-life pronouncements can be believed.

My need to rightly represent Him now becomes crucial. Why? My time on earth is limited. My impact on my world will run out at a time unknown to me. How many out there can I bring to Him so that their after-life will be glorious instead of everlasting damnation?

“Jesus, You have risen from the dead and are now in heaven with the Father. Thank You for giving me Your Holy Spirit. I am desperate for Your Wisdom in my words, thoughts, and deeds so that they please You. I thank You for the hope of an eternal after-life in Your midst. What a time that will be!”

Are you acceptable to God?

+13 – Steady

hwfm-November-14

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Corinthians

Comments are closed.