Paris massacre

“We have done so, relying not on worldly wisdom but on God’s grace.” 2 Corinthians 1:12

(Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading – Job 41-42 & 2 Corinthians 1-2)

Paul sets a wonderful example.

Paul insists that he has been led by God in what he has done.

What is the alternative? Worldly wisdom. It starts by being godless. Doing what I think is in the best interest of everyone.

Much of life can be lived that way without problem. However, in something like the terrorist attacks on Paris, the “best interests” takes on new meaning. The terrorists operated in their own best interests caring nothing for the consequences. What does worldly wisdom look like under that circumstance in which “best interests” are conflicting?

What does God want? There will be an absolute at the end of that answer. God values human life. It’s His creation that has been killed. The terrorists did not value human life therefore what they did was wrong, clearly wrong. Those who sympathize with what the terrorists did are clearly wrong. It is sin.

Paul was intent on relying on God for what he should and should not do. I must do the same. I cannot condone what God does not condone.

Crucial for me, is that I must constantly be seeking God’s Will. I can’t expect once-a-week load ups on what He wants me doing or not doing.

I must wait on Him. I must stop myself from acting and then asking Him for blessing. I must be willing to go wherever He wants me to go and serve Him there in His strength.

“Lord, You are over all. Those terrorists have not out-maneuvered You. They have disobeyed You and will have to face the consequences now or in the after-life. I thank You that You are in charge. My trust is in You. Lead me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Are you acceptable to God?

+13 – Steady

hwfm-November-15

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Corinthians

Comments are closed.