Representing Him

“We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God.” 2 Corinthians 5:20

This verse was chosen from today’s Bible reading (2 Corinthians 3-6).

I have a job to do and so do all believers. We are assigned to represent God.

How hard it is to imagine God entrusting forgiven sinners with the task of representing Him!

Why? We are so weak. We are so under-prepared. We are still prone to sinfulness. But God selects us anyhow.

For me to represent anyone, I have to know the One I represent quite well. I must have regular contact with the One I represent and tune in to what He wants done in the place He has placed me. I need to review and review His instructions written out for me. I may spend more time preparing to represent Him than I will actually representing Him so that I get it right. My activities representing Him will flow from a heavily immersed submission to Him.

I read that paragraph and can quickly see why I so often fail to rightly represent Him. My talk is cheap! My good intentions are surely not enough. My commitment to Him is not total causing my surrender to get unglued too often.

Why should God trust me to rightly represent Him? My life is full of inconsistent allegiances. I am too prone to choose my way first and plead for His blessing second. Who would I possibly be “representing” with that backward approach?

“Lord, my desire is to rightly represent You. My lifestyle often reflects contrary to my desire. I ask You to saturate me with You. Overwhelm me with what You want me to do. Prick my conscience when I have strayed from You so that I can make corrections. Thank You for tolerating me in my wicked ways. You are truly an eternal loving God. Glory to Your Name!”

Are your sins forgiven yet?  You don’t have to carry them a second longer.

+12 – Progress

hwfm-November-16

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Corinthians

Comments are closed.