Need help?

“Our help is in the name of the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.” Psalm 124:8

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading; Psalm 124 & 2 Corinthians 11-13.

When trouble comes where do you turn?

The recent Paris Massacre is a case in point. Where can a person be really safe? Many of the victims were at a concert quite certain that there was little danger there. But look what happened.

Wherever my trust is in, other than God, must be considered a counterfeit god. Those gods are all terminal.

Are believers never in danger? Not so. The difference is that the believer has their trust in a God capable of pushing back any enemy. He is limitless. Will He always spare us from floods and massacres? No. However, I know that even death won’t separate me from Him. “To be absent from the body is to be present with the Lord.”

The God I’ve put my trust in is the One who made the heavens and the earth FROM NOTHING. There isn’t a problem I face or will face that will be a challenge for Him to deal with.

I must learn to live in full-time trust of Him. How often I see enormity where He sees nothing.

I can’t resist viewing Him from my perspective from time to time. A problem comes along and I sense that I’m overwhelmed by it. Obviously I have forgotten about the God Who makes great things from NOTHING!

“Lord, forgive me for underestimating You. There is nothing You can’t handle. Forgive me for ever trusting counterfeit gods. They’re useless. Fill me with Your Holy Spirit. ‘Let not my heart be troubled.’ Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Do you need God yet?

hwfm-November-18

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.