Sandy foundation

“But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand.” Matthew 7:26

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading; Matthew 5-7.

Timely verse for me.

I am getting to the point where I have a pretty good idea what God wants me doing or not doing. This fact eliminates ignorance as an excuse for mistakes.

When things get rough I must be able to react as if I am grounded in God rather than the circumstances.

If my demeanor fluctuates according to circumstances then circumstances have become my idols. When things are good I’m happy. When they’re not I’m unhappy. No way is that evidence of being grounded in God.

It frustrates me when I find myself rocked by circumstances. I know better but my confidence in my being grounded in Him is exposed as a fraud. How does this happen?

My life must be completely tied to Him. I cannot “relax” in my relationship to Him thinking that things are going well so therefore I must be totally in synch with His wishes. False security in circumstances.

I need a right relationship with Him full-time. Circumstances may change but my need for complete surrender to Him can’t change.

There must be a “without ceasing” in my relationship to Him. No side trips apart from Him must be allowed to happen.

The bottom line for me is that I want my relationship to Him to be steady. I don’t want personality changes based on circumstances.

“Help me, Father. I am weak. Why so often am I attached to sinking sand? I need You full-time. I need You without ceasing. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah I beg.”

Are you ready for Judgment Day?

+12 Progress.

n4

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.