Praying for others

“We constantly pray for you, that our God may make you worthy of his calling, and that by his power he may bring to fruition your every desire for goodness and your every deed prompted by faith. We pray this so that the name of our Lord Jesus may be glorified in you, and you in him, according to the grace of our God and the Lord Jesus Christ.” 2 Thessalonians 1:11-12

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Thessalonians 4-5 and 2 Thessalonians 1-3.

Great prayer by Paul for others. Certainly an example that I can and should use in my daily praying.

Right away the word “constantly” shows up. This isn’t the casual, “I’ll pray for you,” generality that almost always amounts to nothing. This is regularity. This is often.

When thoughts of someone come to mind, that is my time to intercede for them……….not later. I believe that Scripture, “take captive every thought,” suggests that thoughts come to us for reasons and they must be reacted to in a Godly fashion.

Some thoughts need to be disregarded because they’re from the Devil. For those, I need to SUBMIT to God and RESIST the devilish thoughts.

Others require immediate intercession. Someone is traveling and you already know that. They come to mind. Pray for them right then. Don’t wait.

The prayer goes on to demand that we live as God wants us to live and thereby rightly represent Him so that all glory is given to Him.

“Lord, I thank You for inserting prayer ideas into Your Word. I need Your Help if I’m to get any of representing You rightly correct. Forgive me for self-absorption. I am nothing of value apart from You. I love You, Lord. Fill me now with Your Holy Spirit so that Your Ways are naturally my ways. Thank You, Father!”

Are you prayerfully tuned into others?

Today is my wonderful wife's birthday

Today is my wonderful wife’s birthday

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Thessalonians

Comments are closed.