Don’t give back evil

“Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.” Romans 12:21

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Romans 9-12.

The message is so contrary. Someone does something unkind (or worse) to you and you just can’t let it go.

That’s one of my many problems. I keep track. I remember the slights and the unkindnesses. I can’t resist returning a whack when the moment presents itself. I will not go directly to someone and repay. I’ll wait for a less obvious moment.

All sin. No exceptions to that sort of thinking/behavior.

God tells us to take it and not be overcome by it.

How do you do it? The answer is being entirely under the control of the Holy Spirit. It can’t be done any other way.

I need to be overwhelmed by the Holy Spirit. I can’t sneak a dose of Him right after trouble comes. That will not work.

When things are smooth it is so easy to be consciously righteous. I say the right things. I’m where I need to be. God is reflecting off of me. However, bring on some trouble. Dare let someone do something I don’t like. Dare someone treat me badly and everything comes unglued. The words, the actions all reflect an abandonment of my so-called attachment to Godliness.

I am devastated by the continuous pattern. I crave an “all-weather” attachment to Him. Today’s verse shows me how little I actually have matured spiritually as I think of recent incidents in which I betrayed Him by my actions.

“O Lord, I need You. I cannot function rightly apart from You. I cannot handle trouble apart from You. Cleanse me, Father, of my sins. Take over my heart. I want Your Words/Thoughts to be my words/thoughts. Forgive me, I pray. I love You, Lord.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Romans

Comments are closed.