Overflow

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” Romans 15:13

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Romans 13-16.

How sad just to have enough of God that it can be contained within me and the evidence of it is hardly seen.

The chosen verse takes a relationship with God to a much higher level……….the “overflow” level.

I don’t think that this verse means that you overflow with God intentionally instead it will just happen without your guidance.

Think of Moses coming back after time with God. His face was bright but he didn’t know it. Others had to call it to his attention and insist that he wear a veil.

If I spend time with God it will become noticeable. And it won’t be noticeable because I have called attention to it.

The level of relationship I’m talking about is not the result of Bible study, or prayer, or worship. It is about going beyond those things to actually being with God. If those activities don’t end me up in God’s presence than I’m misguided and wasting time.

I think that is what can happen to believers: We get caught up in the exterior and never taste the interior.

God cannot be put into a structure of my own choosing. I cannot regiment Him to my cadence.

I want to be in the overflow level so that during the course of the day stray thoughts, in the midst of my busyness, re-center me on His Love for me.

“O Father, You offer front-row seats with You and I so often settle for the parking lot. I love You and I know that You love me. Forgive me for drifting apart from You. Help me to see You in my midst and overflow with You because of it. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Is God at the end of your religious activities?

+11 – Progress

butterfly-in-a-rhodidendrum

Leave a comment

Filed under Romans

Comments are closed.