Stay mindful of Him at night

“In the night, Lord, I remember your name.” Psalm 119:55

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Ephesians 5-6 & Psalm 119:1-80.

Why would I ever want to let God slip from my thinking?

You climb into bed and don’t always go immediately to sleep. A lot of things happened. Some things will have to be faced tomorrow. Whatever it is, you are awake but you’re lying there.

The psalmist tells us in the chosen verse that He thinks of God at those moments.

If I am in right relationship with God, I will think of Him every waking hour. I will surely think of other things as well but He is always on the surface or just below the surface.

How many things does God do for me in the course of a day. I can review them during my awake, bed time and praise Him for each of them.

I can also align myself with Him for tomorrow. He knows everything about me so I can once again put my full trust in Him.

God may give me an idea for something that I need to do the next day. I may have to get out of bed and jot it down.

I like to memorize Scripture. Trust me, it is challenging. Some things I can’t forget but other things I can’t remember. Those kind require plenty of review and bedtime is a good time to do that. I will sometimes keep what I’m trying to memorize close by so that if I am struggling to recall a verse I have it nearby and can put the light on it and see it.

“Lord, let Your Holy Spirit overflow within me. Keep me from straying from an ongoing awareness of You. You are my God. I need You every second. Forgive me for going it alone. Always a bad idea. I love You for loving me. Thank You, Father.”

There should be no time apart from God.

o27 morning glory

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.