Content yet?

“I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.” Philippians 4:11

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Philippians 1-4.

Easy for Paul, how about for the rest of us?

How often do our circumstances determine our level of content? For me? Way too often.

Scripture points out how easy it is to be content when things are going our way………anyone can do it. It’s the other times, when something breaks or someone gives us heat. How about then?

Paul claims that he has “learned” to be content. That suggests that he wasn’t always able to do that. Thus there is hope for those of us who struggle with contentment currently.

If I am going to rightly represent God in my midst I must learn contentment. How will I do it? The key is being filled with the Holy Spirit. I cannot doing anything Godly apart from that filling.

So often my contentment level reveals itself in things I have to quickly react to. Give me time and I can usually figure out what the right thing to do is. On short notice? Not so much.

But this all comes back to being filled with the Holy Spirit full-time. I must deliberately decide to do what God wants in every situation. I cannot strike this posture in the middle of a problem. I must be on board with Him throughout my waking day.

The opportunity to be Godly in my midst connects to my contentedness. The world runs on circumstances when it comes to contentment. I must not, as a Spirit-filled believer, function that way.

“Lord, take me over now. Run my life. Regulate my reactions to what is about to happen. Make me mindful of You. Forgive me for going my way not Your’s. You are the One I love. Prick my conscience when I have disconnected from You. I don’t want that to continue because I want to rightly represent You all day long. I love You, Father.”

Why aren’t you content?

+11 – Steady.

hwfm-August-26

Leave a comment

Filed under Philippians

Comments are closed.