Can you hear Him?

“So, as the Holy Spirit says: ‘Today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts as you did in the rebellion.” Hebrews 3:7-8

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Philemon and Hebrews 1-4.

Today we’re in familiar territory. It is Psalm 95 again but this time in Hebrews.

How do I go about hearing from God?

Part of the answer has to do with tuning in to Him. Is there ever an opportunity in which hearing from Him is even possible? Our days drone on and that droning can keep us oblivious to Him. What is the only way He can then get our attention? It would have to be loud and startling.

How much better to be thinking continuously of His being in my midst. I strongly believe that I need to be in hearing relationship to Him BEFORE “noisy” interruptions intervene. I don’t know when they’ll come but I want to be able to hear Him when they do come.

I mention this frequently: Many of my difficult moments come from bad reactions to things. Given time I can manage much better because the spiritual side of me has time to get rightly into place. It’s the quick ones that get me. The solution? Get close to Him 24/7. That setup will have me in step with Him as the reactionary scenarios present themselves.

Within the chosen verses is the reminder to respond to what He tells me to do. Why would someone continue to speak to me if I hear them yet totally ignore what they tell me? God is not to be ignored.

I recently was led to do something that would not be easy for me to do. The action was easy but my doing it would not be. A wall had been built and reinforced repeatedly and now God wanted that wall taken down. I hesitated to do what I was led to do. I guess I thought that the other person involved might collapse! But now it’s done and I am glad it happened.

“Lord, I want to hear everything You have to tell me. Clear away the unnecessary interferences, I beg. I want to obey You. Help me, Father. You are a great God and You surely know what is best for me. Thank You, for being You!”

Are you missing what God wants to tell you?

+12 – Discipline today.

f4

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Hebrews

Comments are closed.