Is God unhappy with your level of faith?

“And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.” Hebrews 11:6

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Hebrews 9-11.

In whom do you trust?

Knowing about God is not trust. If a say that I believe that the nearby chair will hold me up, I am at that point all talk. If I prove my talk by sitting on the chair, then I have put my trust into correlated action.

God will not be pleased with just talk. He wants my faith to grow legs.

Today’s chosen verse lists two starting points where my faith can become something: (1) believe that God exists, and (2) believe that God can be sought and found.

Many in our world choose to ignore God’s existence. They have in their heads that “it” just happens. No need to be specific and to think through how “it” happened. Their scheme appears to be that if you don’t think about God then you won’t have to start sorting out your relationship to Him.

Some folks believe in some sort of god, but connecting directly to that god is beyond their comprehension. So they behave in a fashion that they trust will please that god of their own making.

The vagueness that many live with in both areas is troubling. Why? Because there is a God. The Creation is the handiwork of Someone divine. That Someone is the God of the Bible. That God can be reached. The Bible tells me so! “Call on me and I will listen.”

“Lord, You are my God. Your love for me is unlimited. It is not vague. It is real. You created the world I live in. You loved me enough to die in my place for the sins that would have separated me from You. How I thank You for that! Take my hand. Lead me on, I beg.”

Get your faith in God right.

+12 – Too high to be pleased with the steadiness.

hw4m-July-18th

Leave a comment

Filed under Hebrews

Comments are closed.