Don’t fall in

“…and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.” James 1:27

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: James 1-5.

We can’t help but be in the world. We must, however, not get sucked in by the values of the godless world.

Our actions inform others indirectly of where we are spiritually. If I drive recklessly, people make assumptions about me. If I rake the leaves in my yard, assumptions are also made.

What does Godly behavior look like? That’s easy; doing whatever the Bible tells me to do. Many verses in the Bible mention caring for others, even loving them. And it doesn’t say to love only the ones who are nice to you because anyone can do that. Try it when they are mean and nasty!

Being successful in the world has plenty of pitfalls. How do I move ahead of people in a Godly manner?

Being part of a company involves cooperation. When and where do I take spiritual stands?

I cannot get it Godly right in the world unless my life is entirely surrendered to Him. This cannot be a part-time thing because godlessness can slip in through even the tiniest of openings.

Lately, I have been trying to be very conscious of God throughout the day. It has required a concerted effort on my part.

I want the empty spots filled with Him, thinking things such as: “I know You are here with me. I want to be controlled entirely by You. I do not do well on my own. Fill me with You.” There is plenty of repetition.

I have found that approaching things this way has me better prepared spiritually for what happens. If I don’t do that then my reactions are of the world and often do more harm than good.

“Lord, I need You. I am incapable of functioning in a fashion pleasing to You without a tight relationship to You. Eliminate the needless distractions from my life. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Are you coated with the world’s values?

+12 – Big slip

ja21

Leave a comment

Filed under James

Comments are closed.